top of page



INDIA - 2012




The GalileoMobile project, named Khagol Rath or ‘Astro Chariot’, took place between the 2nd and 13th of July 2012 in the Indian state of Karnataka, between the cities of Bangalore and Mysore. We shared modern astronomy with around 1680 students, 100 teachers, and 420 local people to modern Astronomy. In Karnataka there are many places where the access to Astronomy is limited or non-existent. During our stay we traveled by minibus to visit 12 villages and towns: rural Bengaluru (Bengaluru), Malur, Srinivaspur, Sidlaghatta, Thodagere, Alanahalli, Kunigal, Koppa, amanagara, KM Doddi, Channapatna and Mandya.


The experiences were recorded in a beautiful photo-book.

Six GalileoMobile team members carried out astronomical activities in schools in close collaboration with the Indian Institute of Astrophysics (IAA). Local students/astronomers and amateur astronomers from IIA and Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium in Bengaluru helped us in contacting the schools and with translations into the local language, Kannada, when necessary. Above all, they partook in the activities with the children and will keep the contact with the schools and do follow-up activities. This project also focused on the involvement of local teachers in the astronomical activities to create an impact that will last longer than our stay in India. A teacher training program initiated by our collaboration with GTTP provided the necessary skills to work with local teachers. 


The project was funded by the following institutions:



We want to thank all the people who helped us during both the preparation of the expedition as well as during the trip. Thank you for supporting us and sharing our vision!

  • Akshay Kumar M A (University student and amateur astronomer)

  • Anil Kumar S (University student and amateur astronomer)

  • Anusha Seetharam (PhD student at IIA)

  • Arun R Bharadwaj (University student and amateur astronomer)

  • Dr. B.S. Shylaja (Director of the Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium Bangalore)

  • Bhavanishankar (Amateur astronomer)

  • Chandrasekhar G. (Amateur astronomer)

  • Chuck Ruehle (GTTP)

  • Prof. Karl-Heinz Glassmeier (TU Braunschweig and COSPAR representative in Germany) 

  • Dilip Kumar (Amateur stronomer)

  • Prof. Dipankar Banerjee (IIA)

  • Ms. Geetha Kydala Ganesha (Student at the Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium Bangalore)

  • Hari Gaurav (Amateur astronomer)

  • Hema Bharadwaj (PhD student at IIA)

  • Jayanth Kumar B. N. (University student and amateur astronomer)

  • K. Chandrasekhar Reddy (PhD student at IIA)

  • Kathan Kothari (GTTP)

  • Kevin Govender (OAD)

  • Lars Christensen (ESO)

  • Leonor Cabral (NUCLIO)

  • Mark Beat (ESO)

  • Mohan BS (Bibliotecario del IIA)

  • Dr. Nagaraju Krishnappa (MPS)

  • Naveen (Driver)

  • Paula Furtado (NUCLIO)

  • Rajeeva Gowda (Director of the Government higher primary school, Cheemangala, Chikkaballapur district)

  • Dr. Ravindra B. (IIA)

  • Rosa Doran (GTTP)

  • Savitha Mohan

  • Simon White (MPA)

  • Siva Shankara Sastry (Amateur astronomer)

  • Prof. S. Siraj Hasan (Antiguo director del IIA)

  • Smitha Rao (University student)

  • Agastya International Foundation

  • Prof. Vishwanath P. R. (Invited professor at IIA)

bottom of page